English
Hermit
Français
Ermite
Español
-
Edition
Dark Ages
Type
Action
Text
Look through your discard pile. You may trash a card from your discard pile or hand that is not a Treasure. Gain a card costing up to 3 Coins.
When you discard this from play, if you did not buy any cards this turn, trash this and gain a Madman from the Madman pile.
Rules
When you play this, look through your discard pile, and then you may choose to trash a card that is not a Treasure, from either your hand or your discard pile. You do not have to trash a card and cannot trash Treasures. A card with multiple types, one of which is Treasure (such as Harem from Intrigue), is a Treasure. After trashing or not, you gain a card costing up to 3 Coin. The card you gain comes from the Supply and is put into your discard pile. Gaining a card is mandatory if it is possible. Then, when you discard Hermit from play - normally, in Clean-up, after playing it in your Action phase - if you did not buy any cards this turn, you trash Hermit and gain a Madman. The Madman comes from the Madman pile, which is not in the Supply, and is put into your discard pile. It does not matter whether or not you gained cards other ways, only whether or not you bought a card. If there are no Madman cards left, you do not gain one. If Hermit is not discarded from play during Clean-up - for example, if you put it on your deck with Scheme (from Hinterlands) - then the ability that trashes it will not trigger.