English
Upgrade
Français
Mise à niveau
Español
Mejora
Edition
Intrigue
Type
Action
Text
Trash a card from your hand.
Gain a card costing exactly 1 Coin more than it.
Rules
Draw a card first. Then, you must trash a card from your hand and gain a card costing exactly 1 coin more than the trashed card. The gained card has to be a card in the Supply, and it goes into your discard pile. If there are no cards available for that cost, you do not get one (you still trashed a card though). If you do not have a card in your hand to trash, you neither trash nor gain a card. Card costs are affected by Bridge. Since Bridge affects the costs of the card you trash and the card you gain, in most cases the Bridge will have no net effect. But since cards cannot go below zero in cost, a Bridge played before an Upgrade would allow you to trash a Copper (cost of zero, even with the Bridge) and gain an Estate (cost of 1 as a result of the Bridge).